The District

Fire District 12 was founded in 1984 and opened its first fire station in April 1986. Originally funded by a 5-mill property tax approved by the voters, the District now operates five stations, employs more than 67 full-time firefighters, and coordinates dispatch services for 8 of St. Tammany’s fire protection districts.

The District is equipped with multiple fire engines, including pumpers and a ladder truck, and engages in voluntary mutual aid pacts with neighboring fire districts, ensuring citizens get the best possible service in times of emergency no matter where they live in our community.

The District’s boundaries wrap around the City of Covington to the south, east and north, and take in one of west St. Tammany’s busiest corridors – Hwy. 190 between I-12 and Covington. From rural areas north of Covington to the densely populated Tammany Hills and Crestwood subdivisions, FD12 provides service to more than 25,000 people and 1,200 businesses.

The 50 full-time fire suppression personnel of St. Tammany Fire District #12 proudly serve 63 square miles of unincorporated Ward 3.

Base map of St. Tammany, LA Fire District 12

Fire District 12 Stations